This is 30

So this is 30

Hello! If you’re anything like me, and there is a slight possibility that you are, you’re wondering how the hell you got to 30 already. Or worse, you’re pushing 30 and wondering what the hell you’ve been doing this whole time. That’s definitely me, I mean, what the hell HAVE I been doing this whole time? I thought for sure I would have my career going for me by now and maybe even a fledgling family. I have neither. I do, however, have a full-time job I’m not even sure I want and some studying to do.

I don’t know what it was like for previous generations but there seems to be a lot of pressure on us millennials to have our life all put together by the time we reach our 30’s. Because of that, many of us stress out about what we still have left to do on our preconceived list of stuff-to-have-done-by-now. If this is you, rest-assured you are not the only one. In fact, it is so common that you are actually in good company! This fear of 30 seems so common with our generation that it almost takes the fear away. Almost. (I mean it’s still there but when so many people are going through the same thing it at least makes it feel semi-normal.)

Here’s some more good news. I’ve spoken to other people much older than myself who still say they don’t know how they want their life to turn out. Some of these people have switched professions a few times. I don’t mean just jumping ship when the going gets tough, I mean they enjoyed one profession, then tried another, then another. For me, this was refreshing and mildly relieving to find out. Also, I’ve heard from others that your 30s end up being some of your best years. Crazy, right? All this time fighting growing up just to find out you feel better AFTER growing up. I’m sure this isn’t a one size fits all type of deal but hearing it from multiple people is encouraging.

Right now, I’m less than a month away from my 30th birthday. I’ve actually used my upcoming birthday to motivate me to work harder to achieve my goals. I’ve been toying with the idea of being self-employed for a few years now and I’ve started making some decent plans for getting there. They aren’t much but starting small is better than not starting at all. Hell, I don’t even really care if it doesn’t make me filthy stinking rich, I just want my life to be on my terms because office life is a tragedy. Anyway, instead of letting the big 3-0 scare me I made it into a turning point for my life. It isn’t my youth dying, it’s really my adulthood maturing.

Standard

Leave a Reply

